24 years young

I turned 24 last week. It sounded really scary when I was thinking about it before it actually happened. I mean, it’s just another step towards 25 and then in a blink of an eye you’re 30 and still writing silly things on your blog when you should have stopped doing that years ago and actually earn some money for a living. I always saw people at 24 like the ones who knew what to do when it gets hard and to me, they were adults. But then my birthday came and it felt nothing special. Actually, I just wanted to be over with that day so everybody can stop treating me like I am very special and we can all go back to our normal life. I didn’t feel like a grown up and I know that because I went screaming all over the house with my one-and-a-half-year-old niece. I didn’t feel smarter or older because my back didn’t kill me after lifting her and her four kilos and I still haven’t had all the answers to her questions. I still got drunk with my friends and ate too much of Easter food that day. Every little thing was just so very usual.

blog24

Nothing changed the day after, or the day after that, or any other day. I am still cute and still looking like I am 14 years old. I still fall in love with every other guy on the street and sometimes dream about having their kids and raising them very liberally outside this absurd country. I still feel exhausted after only three hours of sitting at college and when I come home, I have to rest for nine hours from all that hard work. I still kiss my dog every morning because she’s the only breathing being that gives me more love than I can ever give to her and I still appreciate it every day a bit more than the previous one. I still get disappointed in people around me and in the world we live in currently. The only thing that has changed as I got older is that I appreciate good friends and family more than ever. I notice small things more and sometimes, I feel so fulfilled with people surrounding me that I would marry each one of them so they would have to be by my side forever.

To be honest, I was freaking out for no reason. Maybe 25 will come fast and 30 even faster but if everything will change with current speed, I think I’ll be okay. Well, at least, I’ll still look approximately 10 years younger.

So with 24 years on my back, all I can say is thank you to all good people around me and ask each one of you to really look into our friendship, to see all my good and bad sides and then fix me up with some good guy because come on, I am 24 years old and single, it’s just such a shame, don’t you think? 😉

This is a joke, of course, I am not THAT desperate.

Lidia with a J.

Leave a Reply

